It is forecast to be Clear at 10:00 PM PST on January 24, 2015
Home » Santa Clarita News » American Cancer Society Celebrates Volunteers

American Cancer Society Celebrates Volunteers

Awards given out to Santa Clarita volunteers.

Thursday night, the banquet room at Robinson Ranch Golf Club
was the source of a celebration by the American Cancer Society. It was there,
that a spotlight was cast on the people who usually operate behind the scenes, supporting
the non-profit in its series of events each year.


Here’s who took home the awards;


Dare to Dream Award:

Darrellyn McCormick took the honor for her work in setting
up “Survivor Village”
at Relay for Life.


Heart & Soul Award:

Agnes Russell received this recognition after being involved
in every aspect of the American Cancer Society’s Santa Clarita Valley unit.


Candy Spahr

Office Volunteer of the Year Award:

This year’s winner was Rosalie Goldenberg, who volunteers
regularly at the local office.


Outstanding Community Outreach Award:

This top honor was given to Evelia Gandarilla after she
organized the first cancer awareness seminar targeting the Hispanic/Latino
community in Santa Clarita.


Outstanding Volunteer Team Award:

The Daffodil Days committee was recognized for organizing an
extremely successful event that raised over $39,000 for the American Cancer


Patient Courage Award:

Michael Barr, a throat cancer survivor, regularly volunteers
to drive cancer patients to and from their treatments, offering encouragement
along the way.


Nancy Ellerbroek and Tricia Eugenio from Providence Holy Cross.

Relay For Life Outstanding Leadership Awards:

  • Brian Afdahl won for his first volunteer experience with the
    Cancer Society, taking on the large task of logistics for Relay for Life.
  • Nora Christie also took home an award in this category, for
    her work securing underwriters for the Survivor Breakfast and Relay Kickoff.


Special Recognition Award:

After 20 years volunteering with the American Cancer
Society, Donna Ashmore was recognized for a host of accomplishments that have yielded
much success for the organization.


Youth Spirit Award:

DJ Hamburger received this award for his leadership in the Canyon
High School American Cancer Society Youth Club and for his willingness to do
anything to support the organization.


Rookie of the Year Award:
Ruben Navarro took on numerous leadership roles with the
Society while driving cancer patients to and from treatment, and was also a
part of a Cancer prevention study.


Agnes Russell

Volunteer of the Year Award:
Candy Spahr is well known the circles of the American Cancer
Society’s Santa Clarita Unit, as she takes on leadership roles in numerous campaigns
every year. This year, she served as an event chair for Relay for Life, which raised
over $530,000.

Community Partnership Award:

Providence Holy Cross Cancer Center


Communications Awards went to Diana Sevanian, The Signal and
KHTS AM-1220.




Rosalie Goldenberg


Evelia Gandarilla


Nora Christie


Diana Sevanian


Daffodil Days Committee


The Signal newspaper.


Michael Barr


D.J. Hamburger



American Cancer Society Celebrates Volunteers

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

About hometown