Ivy Day Spa – Mother’s Day Giveaway – Banner
It is forecast to be Partly Cloudy at 7:00 PM PDT on May 06, 2015
Partly Cloudy
Home » Santa Clarita News » Art Association Awards Members Work, Honors Youth With Scholarship

Art Association Awards Members Work, Honors Youth With Scholarship

ArtscholarshiponeThe Santa Clarita Artists Association held its 21st annual Art Classic over the weekend at Hart Hall, featuring the work of several artists in media such as sculpture, photography and other graphic media.

The Association also presented a $1,000 scholarship to young artist Youhwa Shin, whose portfolio of work impressed the judges.


Each year the Association awards a scholarship to a student who plans a future art career in mind, whether as a fine artist, animator, in mixed media or in teaching. Students from all six Hart District public high schools competed and produced an exhibit featuring their students. The field of 12 artists was narrowed down to six by the scholarship committee, and Shin was declared the winner.

Don’t miss a thing. Get breaking news alerts delivered right to your inbox

This isn’t Shin’s first local award, as her work was selected as the best in the 2009 Congressional Art Competition. Her painting of Lady Liberty was chosen to represent the 25th District in a year-long student art exhibit in Washington D.C.

She graduated from Golden Valley High School in 2010 and lives with her parents in Valencia. She plans to attend an art school in Southern California.

Other winners in their categories included C.M. Cooper, who earned the City of Santa Clarita’s ‘Excellence In Arts’ award; Rich Moore who won Best of Show: Jane Dietz, who was given the Richard Huff Memorial Founders Award and Jaylene Armstrong, who was given the Service Award. People’s Choice Awards went to Shirley Checkos (gold) and Jane Mick (silver). The rest of the categories are listed below:


  • Gold – Rick Moore
  • Silver – C.M. Cooper
  • Merit – Gerda Maxey


  • Gold – Lucy Gerets
  • Silver – Maureen Pecikonis
  • Merit – Jackie Sofen


  • Gold – Janet Recchia
  • Silver – Zony Gordon
  • Merit – Olga Kaczmar


  • Gold – Bob Hernandez
  • Silver – Diane Bruckner
  • Merit – Evie Cook

Other Media:

  • Gold – Idelle Tyzbir
  • Silver – Hector Fernandez
  • Merit – Gary Friedman


  • Gold – Michael Mays
  • Silver – Lisa Emmanuel
  • Merit – April Bielefeldt


  • Gold – Susanna Petrovit
  • Silver – Jim Bakman
  • Merit – Jim Bakman



Art Association Awards Members Work, Honors Youth With Scholarship

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

About KHTS AM 1220

Academy Swim Club – News Banner
Action Family Counseling – News Banner
Beyond Harmony – News Banner
College Of The Canyons – News Banner
Hugo Naturals – News Banner
AV Party Rental – News Banner
All American Bail Bonds – News Banner
IHOP – Tile
Simply Taylored – Tile
Valencia United Methodist Church – Luau Lunch – Tile
Nothing Bundt Cakes – Tile
Mayor’s Prayer Breakfast – Tile
San Diego Zoo – Generic – Tile