It is forecast to be Chance of a Thunderstorm at 10:00 PM PST on February 28, 2015
Chance of a Thunderstorm
Home » Santa Clarita News » Cusumano To Receive Award From College Of The Canyons

Cusumano To Receive Award From College Of The Canyons

This Saturday, the College of the Canyons will present Diana Cusumano with the 2011 Silver Spur Award at the historic California Club in Los Angeles.  

The award recognizes community volunteers and philanthropists on an annual basis.  

Don’t miss a thing. Get breaking news alerts delivered right to your inbox.

A Santa Clarita resident of 30 years, Cusumano has a lengthy resume that showcases her involvement with community education and volunteering.  

A former high school English teacher and longtime substitute teacher in the Newhall and William S. Hart Union High School districts, she also served as President of the Wiley Canyon Elementary School Site Council and led the establishment of the Newhall Elementary Education Foundation.  

Cusumano later became a member of the Hart High School Parent Association Board and the Hart Auditorium Angels, which raised money to repair, restore and improve the Hart Auditorium.  

She has also volunteered for the Henry Mayo Newhall Memorial Hospital in various capacities. She was a 10-year member and past president of the HMNMH Guild, a 16-year member of the HMNMH Home Tour league and served on the board of the Sheila R. Veloz Breast Imagining Center for four years.  

She is a founding member of the SCV Heart Association board and a former Betty Ferguson Foundation board member.  

Cusumano was chosen by the Foundation Board of Directors and the college from a large list of nominees, said COC Foundation officials.  

Currently, Cusumano is Chairman of the Foundation board for the SCV Child and Family Center as well as the president of Interior Dimensions, a local decorative arts company.  

In 2006, she was named SCV Woman of the Year.

She joins a long of past Silver Spur recipients, including: Myrna and Gary Condie, Harold and Jacquie Petersen, Wayne Crawford, Rita Garasi, Tom Veloz, Charlotte and Frank Kleeman, Gary Cusumano, Jay and Joyce Rodgers, Tom Lee, Lou Garasi, Michael Berger, Roberta Veloz, Dick Luechtefeld, Robert Ormsby, LaVerne Harris, John Hoskinson, Tom Dierckman, Scott and Ruth Newhall, Elisha “Aggie” Agajanian and Cliffe Stone.  

The event on March 5, which runs from 6:00 p.m. to 10:00 p.m., is “black tie optional” and includes a dinner, live auction and a tribute video to Cusumano.  

Tickets are $175 and require a reservation. Those who have not yet made a reservation are asked to call the COC Foundation office at (661) 362-3435.



Cusumano To Receive Award From College Of The Canyons

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

About hometown