It is forecast to be Partly Cloudy at 10:00 PM PST on December 20, 2014
Partly Cloudy
Home » Santa Clarita News » Education » Newhall School District » Newhall School District Board Elects New President, Clerk
Newhall School District Board Elects New President, Clerk

Newhall School District Board Elects New President, Clerk

The Governing Board of the Newhall School District met for the district’s annual organizational meeting on Dec. 10 where they voted to appoint a new president and clerk for 2014.

Don’t miss a thing. Get breaking Santa Clarita news alerts delivered right to your inbox.

Incumbent board members Phil Ellis, Christy Smith, and Brian Walters are beginning a sceond consecutive term after re-election in November.

Continuing service on the board is 10-year board member Mike Shapiro and 14-year veteran Suzan Solomon.

Walters replaces Ellis as president of the Newhall School District board, and Shapiro takes Walters’ place as clerk.

The Newhall School District board is made up of five citizens who represent the public.

The board sets district policy, monitors business and instructional programs, and holds staff acountable for the conduct of district affairs.

Brian Walters Profile

Walters joined the board in 2009 in order to help the Newhall School District during the economic crisis. He served as the board’s clerk throughout 2013 before his current appointment as president.

He has lived in Santa Clarita since 2003, and his three children attend schools in the district. He is an active member of the Pico Canyon PTA and Pico Canyon All Pro Dads.

Ellis served on the Newhall board from 1995 to 1999 and returned to serve again in 2009. During his absence from the Newhall board Ellis served on the Governing Board at William S. Hart Union High District.

All three of Ellis’ sons graduated from Valencia Valley and Hart. He returned to the Newhall board in 2009 in order to help the District handle the California budget crisis.

Mike ShapiroShapiro has been a member of the board since 2003. Shapiro created and chaired the Newhall School District’s Annual Run for Fitness. He also is co-founder of the Newhall Educator’s Family Fund (NEFF), which provides support to teachers and staff of the Newhall School District who are facing a grave illness.

The Newhall School District votes on a new president and clerk every year. Walters and Shapiro’s terms end in December 2014.

For more information about the district or governing board, click here.

Photographs from the Newhall School District website.

Do you have a news tip? Call us at (661) 298-1220, or drop us a line at


Source: Santa Clarita News

Newhall School District Board Elects New President, Clerk

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

About hometown