It is forecast to be Chance of Rain at 10:00 PM PST on December 19, 2014
Chance of Rain
Home » Santa Clarita News » Employees In The COC Spotlight

Employees In The COC Spotlight

College of the Canyons awards special workers.

Employees at College of the Canyons were recognized for their contributions to the college at an awards luncheon held on Wednesday, May 2, 2007. 


The luncheon was held with the “twist” that board members, administrators and managers served college “classified” employees a catered meal.


Classified employees hold support positions at the college.


They are most often the behind-the-scenes people who are responsible for the day-to-day functioning of the college.

This is the eleventh year that awards were presented to individuals in several categories.  Five awards were presented.

The College of the Canyons Employee of the Year was awarded to Nancy Faulconer who is the administrative support person for the Allied Health office on campus. The award recognizes an individual who has made contributions to the college through service to the campus.  


In Faulconer’s case, she was singled out for her efficiency; problem solving; positive attitude; handling all of the admissions and records data for nursing students and collaboration with faculty, staff and students during a period of tremendous growth of the college’s nursing program. The Employee of the Year award consists of a decorative plaque and $300 cash.

The Humanitarian Award went to Chris Miner. This award acknowledges an indispensable contribution to the college and cites community involvement and dedication. Miner is an administrative assistant for the college’s facilities department.  


She has been a team captain for the American Cancer Society Relay for Life for several years, runs the recycling program for the college and is very active in her church. The award consists of a decorative plaque and a $100 cash award.

The New Visions Award recognizes an employee who brings new insight to the job, which improves the college.  A positive attitude and providing an inspiration to other employees are key elements in selecting the award winner.  The 2007 New Visions Award winner is Edwin Abrenica.  


He is the Chemistry department’s instructional stockroom technician.  Abrenica was cited for his work in the organic chemistry labs and, in particular, his contributions to make the labs safer and more efficient for students and faculty.  His award consists of a plaque and a $100 cash award.

A decorative plaque and a $100 cash award also went to Lynne Mayer, this year’s winner of the Professional Achievement Award. Mayer is the administrative assistant to the college’s Board of Trustees and is a key member of the superintendent-president’s staff.


The award recognizes outstanding performance through educational achievement and a record of excellent job performance. She was cited for enthusiastically seeking training to improve her skills and her understanding of the myriad rules that apply to elected Boards. Mayer was also cited as an excellent communicator who has participated in the college’s mentor program as well as on the committee to coordinate the development of the University Center.

New this year is the Gloria Jackson Service Award, named after a beloved member of the College of the Canyons communication’s department staff who passed away in November of 2006.  Jackson had worked for 25 years at the college’s switchboard and mailroom and was noted for her depth and breadth of information, her encyclopedic memory for numbers and her endearing laugh.  The award consists of a decorative plaque and a $100 cash award.  
Two winners were named for this award; ­ Michelle Thun and Mary Haines.


Thun is a member of the college’s human relations office staff who worked closely and caringly with Jackson’s family after her death.  Thun is described as sensitive, kind, calm, compassionate, patient and particularly adept at working with people who are experiencing difficulties.

Haines is a long-time co-worker of Jackson at the college’s switchboard and mailroom.  She was cited as carrying on Gloria Jackson’s legacy of outstanding customer service by making a personal connection with people and displaying a positive attitude, even when things are hectic. She was singled out for being pleasant and personable with a great sense of humor and the ability to laugh.  On hand to present this inaugural award were Jackson’s children.

Each year the California School Employee Association (CSEA) presents its Member of the Year Award at this luncheon. This year’s winner was Yvette Barrios, a family studies technician in the college’s Family Studies and Early Childhood Education Center.


Yvette was cited as devoting countless hours to the local chapter, sitting on committees and boards, and fighting for important provisions to the current contract.  She received a
plaque and a $100 cash award.

The awards were presented by College Superintendent-President, Dr. Dianne G. Van Hook as well as members of the college’s Board of Trustees.

Employees In The COC Spotlight

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

About hometown