It is forecast to be Mostly Cloudy at 10:00 PM PST on January 29, 2015
Mostly Cloudy
Home » Santa Clarita News » Events » Texaco Country Showdown » LeAnn Rimes Announced As Host For 2014 Texaco Country Showdown
LeAnn Rimes Announced As Host For 2014 Texaco Country Showdown

LeAnn Rimes Announced As Host For 2014 Texaco Country Showdown

In less than two weeks, KHTS-sponsored contestant, Suzanne Harper will join four other finalists to compete in the National Final of the Texaco Country Showdown, at the Ryman Auditorium in Nashville, Tenn. on Thursday, Jan. 16.

Don’t miss a thing. Get breaking Santa Clarita news alerts delivered right to your inbox.

Suzanne HarperOn Dec. 20, the showdown organizers announced on their Facebook page that LeAnn Rimes would be hosting the 2014 National Final.

The nationally-known country and pop artist has released 22 albums since 1996.

Suzanne Harper will be joined by Crystal Yates, Zac Matthews, Casey Sutton and band Southern Halo.

Harper follows in the footsteps of KHTS-sponsored band Poor Man’s Poison, which went on to win “Best New Act in Country Music” and the $100,000 grand prize at the 2013 Texaco Country Showdown.

Harper, 31, came first at the Western Regional Final in November.

“I was really shocked I won,” she said.

Native to San Diego County, she has performed in venues throughout Southern California.

Related Texaco Country Showdown Finalists Include Suzanne Harper, KHTS Artist

To prepare for the televised finals, Harper continues to work on her performance and rework the songs she will be performing on the national stage, she said.

She has already booked flights to Nashville for the final showdown.

“I’m mentally preparing (for the finals),” Harper said. “It’s a lot of pressure, but I’m really excited to be going to Nashville.”

If Harper wins this year’s competition, she would be the second consecutive Texaco Country Showdown winner to come out of Santa Clarita’s local country music showdown.

In the Texaco Country Showdown’s 32-year history, it’s helped develop the careers of country music stars, such as Garth Brooks, Sara Evans, Brad Paisley and countless others.

Tim McGraw, Toby Keith and Carrie Underwood are three famous country music stars who competed but did not win in the Texaco Country Showdown.

In the July following their win, Poor Man’s Poison said that they have not let the fame interrupt the cohesiveness of the group when they said that they are “always going to play together no matter what. [They] have been doing it for years since [they] were kids.”

They have released three albums since 2009.

Related Poor Man’s Poison Of The Texaco Country Showdown Returns To The SCV

For more on the finalists, click here.

Mindy Lam contributed to this report.

More information: Texaco Country Showdown

Do you have a news tip? Call us at (661) 298-1220, or drop us a line at


Source: Santa Clarita News

LeAnn Rimes Announced As Host For 2014 Texaco Country Showdown

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

About hometown