Lone Pine – Free Wifi – Banner
All Americans Bail Bonds – Banner
Beyond Harmony – Banner
Action Family Counseling – Banner
Olive Terrace Bar and Grill – Banner
Oakmont of Santa Clarita – Banner
Galpin Motors – Banner
Concerts in the Park – 2015 – Banner
Museum of the Bible – Passages – Banner
Nothing Bundt Cakes – Banner
SB Zoo – Banner
Beach Bus – 2015 – Santa Clarita Transit – Banner
Newhall Land – Summer – 2015 – Banner
Providence Medical Center – Banner
Union Bank – Banner
Valencia United Methodist Church – BBQ – Banner
Feathers – Banner
Samuel Dixon – Rubber Ducky – 2015 – Banner
Academy Swim Club – Banner
Koalafornia – Banner
The Gentle Barn – Banner
Facey – Banner
Small Dog Creative – Banner
Adage IT – Banner
Brent’s Carpet One – Banner
Marco’s Pizza – Banner
AV Party Rental – Banner
Patterson’s Collision Center – Banner
CLWA – Less Lawn – Banner
Persia Lounge – Banner
IHOP – Banner
College Of The Canyons – Banner
Bob’s Country Meats – Banner
El Trocadero – Banner
Green Convergence – Sun Power – Banner
Simply Taylored – Banner
Keyboard Galleria – Banner
Gerard Cosmetics – Banner
It is forecast to be Clear at 7:00 PM PDT on August 29, 2015
Home » Santa Clarita News » Find Out Who Won: Santa Clarita Valley Elections Results Home Page
Find Out Who Won: Santa Clarita Valley Elections Results Home Page

Find Out Who Won: Santa Clarita Valley Elections Results Home Page

KHTS AM-1220 has created a Santa Clarita Valley election results page that will be updated as results are reported.

Don’t miss a thing. Get breaking Santa Clarita news alerts delivered right to your inbox.

These odd-year elections will include ballots for Saugus, Sulphur Springs and Newhall School District board members, as well as Newhall County Water District board members.

Candidates from each district emphasize to community members the importance to vote on Tuesday’s elections.

Candidates from Saugus, Sulphur Springs and Newhall School Districts and Newhall County Water District met at SCVTV studios in October for a live question-and-answer session, with questions provided by a panel of local journalists.

To watch the candidate forums, click the links below:

Saugus Union School District Candidate Forum

Sulphur Springs School District Candidate Forum

Newhall School District Candidate Forum

Newhall County Water District Candidate Forum

Saugus Union School District incumbents include Doug Bryce, Paul De La Cerda and Judy Umeck, who are challenged by Stacie Allegra and Chris Trunkey.

Among the issues discussed by the candidates at the forum was the removal of Stephen Winkler from the school board.

Trunkey questioned the current board members’ actions in handling Winkler’s removal, but the incumbents believed they did all that could be done.

Although Umeck admitted the current members “should have sought out district attorney information,” she concluded that the school board did what was “the most correct thing to do” in the long run.

Sulphur Springs School District incumbents Kerry Clegg, Michael Hogan and Lori MacDonald face a single challenger, Ken Chase.

Chase discussed how he thinks the board members’ planning should be “more proactive versus reactive” in regards to the state budget.

Newhall School District ballot will include incumbents Phil Ellis, Christy Smith and Brian Walters, and challenger Sandra Bull.

At the forum, the candidates mentioned the district’s high API scores, despite having a number of free lunch students.

“The way we continue to push that paradigm is through innovation and collaboration,” incumbent Christy Smith said. “Collaboration is a very important part of everything that we do.”

The candidates also discussed charter schools, but the incumbents and challenger all agreed that there isn’t a need for charter schools in the Newhall School District.

Newhall County Water District candidates include returners B.J. Atkins, Maria Gutzeit and Kathy Colley. The challenger for this election is Carl Puckett.

Candidates cleared up the topic of a water odor due to chloride.

They also discussed how Castaic Lake Water Agency board members were suspected of purchasing water out of their boundaries.

There will not be elections for the remaining three school districts in Santa Clarita Valley due to the lack of challengers each school board faces.

To find the nearest polling place, visit the Los Angeles County Registrar-Recorder/County Clerk website.

Polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m.

Do you have a news tip? Call us at (661) 298-1220, or drop us a line at community@hometownstation.com.

Source: Santa Clarita News

Find Out Who Won: Santa Clarita Valley Elections Results Home Page

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

About KHTS AM 1220

College of the Canyons – News Banner Fall Enrollment
All American Bail Bonds – News Banner
Beyond Harmony – News Banner
Academy Swim Club – News Banner
Action Family Counseling – News Banner
AV Party Rental – News Banner
Union Bank – Tile
Beach Bus – 2015 – Santa Clarita Transit – Tile
Action Family Counseling – Tile
Gerard Cosmetics – Tile
Galpin Motors – Tile
CLWA – Less Lawn – Tile