It is forecast to be Clear at 10:00 PM PST on February 26, 2015
Home » Santa Clarita News » Jensen Elected President Of Hart Governing Board

Jensen Elected President Of Hart Governing Board

hartdistlogoREDFirst-term board member Robert Jensen, Jr. was elected to lead the William S. Hart Governing Board as president in the coming year at the board’s annual organization meeting Wednesday evening. Jensen was elected to the school board in November 2009 and had previously served on the board of the Newhall School District.


Also named to leadership positions were fellow first-term board member Joe Messina who will serve as Clerk and Steve Sturgeon who will be Assistant Clerk. The five member board also includes Paul Strickland and Gloria Mercado-Fortine.

Don’t miss a thing. Get breaking news alerts delivered right to your inbox

The formal election followed a series of tributes to outgoing Board President Paul Strickland, who received certificates and accolades from city, county, state and federal officials. In addition, Strickland was honored by COC and the subject of a special tribute  from outgoing Santa Clarita Mayor Laurene Weste.

All praised Strickland for his past and ongoing dedication and commitment to the Hart District and his role in guiding the District to many achievements and successes, during times of budget challenges.

The Board also elected a number of its members to represent the Hart District on other committees. They include Robert Jensen, SCV Facilities Foundation; Robert Jensen and Gloria Mercado-Fortine (alternate), Saugus / Hart Facilities Financing Authority; Steve Sturgeon and Gloria Mercado-Fortine, Hart District Growth Committee; Steve Sturgeon and Robert Jensen, Audit and Finance Committee; Paul Strickland and Joe Messina, Citizens’ Oversight Committees Membership Selection Committee;  Paul Strickland and Joe Messina, District Board Policy Review Committee; Gloria Mercado-Fortine and Paul Strickland (alternate), Los Angeles County Committee on School District Organization and the Los Angeles County School Trustees Association; and Gloria Mercado-Fortine and Robert Jensen (alternate), Representatives to Special Education Board Liaison Committee.



Jensen Elected President Of Hart Governing Board

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

About hometown