It is forecast to be Chance of Rain at 10:00 PM PST on December 19, 2014
Chance of Rain
Home » Santa Clarita News » Newhall County Water District Announces 2009 Board Officers

Newhall County Water District Announces 2009 Board Officers

At the NCWD Regular Board Meeting held on December 12, 2008, the 5-member board selected Director Maria Gutzeit to serve as Board President and Director Daniel R. Mortensen as Board Vice President for the year 2009.


Director Gutzeit is a chemical engineer and owner of Compliance Plus, an environmental regulatory consulting firm working with industry. She was first elected to the Board in 2003 and re-elected in 2007, has served as president in 2005 and 2006 and vice president in 2007 and 2008.  Gutzeit said “I am excited about leading this great organization again.  With the regulatory, political, and financial challenges in the state, it is a real opportunity to problem solve.  I have no doubt we will continue to be solid in long term planning, customer satisfaction, and efficiency.”

Director  Mortensen is a board certified tax attorney and a principal with Mortensen Law, Tax, Trust & Estate Attorneys, P.C., where he specializes in estate planning; business succession planning; wills; trust law; trust administration; probate; trust litigation; and taxation. He was elected to the Board in 2007.  “It has been a real pleasure working with Director Gutzeit this last year. I look forward to continuing our work together for the benefit of the ratepayers who entrusted us with this responsibility,” Director Mortensen commented.

ImageNewhall County Water District, established in 1953, is one of four water purveyors in the Santa Clarita Valley.  It currently supplies a population of approximately 30,000 with more than 9,500 service connections.  Governed by a five-member board of directors, elected at large by residents of the district, its 34-square mile service area includes portions of the City of Santa Clarita and unincorporated Los Angeles County communities, including Newhall, Canyon Country, Valencia and Castaic.

For more information about the District, visit

Newhall County Water District Announces 2009 Board Officers

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

About hometown