It is forecast to be Clear at 10:00 PM PST on January 25, 2015
Home » Santa Clarita News » Newsmaker Awards Represent Most Vibrant Of Santa Clarita

Newsmaker Awards Represent Most Vibrant Of Santa Clarita

Santa Clarita may not be known for flashbulb paparazzi and scandal clad celebrity, but we do have a few individuals who capture the headlines a bit more than others. Those people will have the chance to be crowned biggest newsmaker in the land on February 2nd, at the Newsmakers of the Year Awards.

The Signal sponsored event is really a fundraiser disguised as an awards ceremony, but that doesn’t make the awards any less significant. Five nominees are up for awards in nine categories including: Most Cooperative With the Local Press, Sports Team, Organization of the Year and Most Controversial.

Other categories are: Sports Individual for Male and Female, Community Service, Behind the Scenes, and who could forget the most prestigious; Newsmaker of the Year.

Tickets run $80 and include dinner, but time is running out to reserve them. Monday, January 29th is the last day they will be for sale.

Profits from ticket sales and the scheduled auction go to the Randy Wicks Memorial First Amendment Scholarships, which provide monetary assistance to students who plan on studying first amendment issues.

So here are the nominees:


Newsmaker of the Year

Harry Welch, Cameron Smyth, Gene Dorio, Laurene Weste and Ken Pulskamp.


Most Controversial

Rory Livingston, Buck McKeon, Roger Seaver, Rick Patterson and Gilberto Perez.


Community Service

Carl Goldman, Wayne Crawford, Gene Dorio, Bob Kellar, David and Michael Ewart


Behind the Scenes

Penny Upton, Steve Arklin, Evan Thomason, Scott Wilk and Susan Shapiro.


Organization of the Year

SafeRides, Domestic Violence Center, L.A. County Fire Department, City Hall’s Cemex Leaders, Blue Star Mothers.


Most Cooperative With the Press

Teresa Todd, Wendy Hahn, Stephanie English, Michelle Sathe and Scott Wilk.


Sports Team

Saugus Girls Cross Country, Hart Girls Basketball, Canyon Football, Canyon Girls Basketball, Valencia Boys Volleyball.


Sports Individual (male)

J.J. DiLuigi, Harry Welch, Jamie Shields, Matt Moore, Nate Longshore.


Sports Individual (female)

Shannon Murakami, Taylor Lilly, Jordan Taylor, Annie Kellogg, Jeanette McConnell.  

Newsmaker Awards Represent Most Vibrant Of Santa Clarita

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

About hometown