Newhall School District – Public Hearing – Banner
It is forecast to be Clear at 7:00 PM PDT on April 28, 2015
Home » Santa Clarita News » Santa Clarita City Council Appoints Commissioners, Panel Members
Santa Clarita City Council Appoints Commissioners, Panel Members

Santa Clarita City Council Appoints Commissioners, Panel Members

Santa Clarita City Council members appointed several city commission and panel members Tuesday at City Hall.

Don’t miss a thing. Get breaking Santa Clarita news alerts delivered right to your inbox.

Returning from the summer recess, council members unanimously filled vacancies on the Planning, Parks, Recreation and Community Services and Arts Commission, as well as the Financial Audit and Accountability Panel.

Planning Commission

There were no new faces here, as City Council members re-upped the terms of current members: Tim Burkhart, director of park operations for Six Flags Magic Mountain, who was appointed by Dante Acosta; Lisa Eichman, an accountant and gym owner who was nominated by Marsha McLean; and Dennis Ostrom, an earthquake risk consultant who was nominated by Laurene Weste.

Parks, Recreation and Community Services

The Parks, Recreation and Community Services Commission will welcome a new face when it swears in members at its next meeting.

Acosta nominated Kevin Korenthal, who has a public relations firm, and will be serving his first term on the commission. Marsha McLean nominated retired city parks employee Dianna Boone for another term. Mayor Laurene Weste nominated Ruthann Levison, who’s been a committee member since 2006

Arts Commission

Acosta nominated Susan Shapiro, a TV executive, for another term; McLean nominated Michael Millar, a music industry professional, who was also previously on the commission; and Weste nominated Patti Rasmussen, who was named an interim member to replace Paul Strickland, to a full term.


Financial Audit and Accountability Panel

The purpose of the Financial Accountability and Audit Panel is to Review and approve the annual work program to ensure land acquisition priorities are adhered to; Review the accounting of the funds generated by the Open Space Preservation District; and make determinations as to whether the proposed expenditures are consistent with the criteria and the requirements established in the Engineer’s Report, in addition to other responsibilities.

TimBen Boydston nominated Wendy Langhans, an outdoors enthusiast, former KHTS AM-1220 radio show host and chaplain; McLean nominated Sandra Cattell, a recently retired educator who’s active in several environmental groups; and Weste nominated Susan Orloff,  a director at Thomson Reuters property tax services and former senior manager with Deloitte & Touche.


Do you have a news tip? Call us at (661) 298-1220, or drop us a line at

KHTS AM 1220 - Santa Clarita News - Santa Clarita Radio

Source: Santa Clarita News

Santa Clarita City Council Appoints Commissioners, Panel Members

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

About Perry Smith

Perry Smith is a print and broadcast journalist who has won several awards for his focused, hyperlocal community coverage in several different regions of the country. In addition to five years of experience covering the Santa Clarita Valley, Smith, a San Fernando Valley native, has worked in newspapers and news websites in Los Angeles, the Northwest, the Central Valley and the South, before coming to KHTS in 2012. To contact Smith, email him at
College Of The Canyons – News Banner
AV Party Rental – News Banner
Hugo Naturals – News Banner
Academy Swim Club – News Banner
All American Bail Bonds – News Banner
Beyond Harmony – News Banner
Action Family Counseling – News Banner
Galpin Motors – Tile
Brent’s Carpet One – Tile
AV Party Rental – Tile
Wicall’s Carpet
Dermacure – Tile
IHOP – Tile