It is forecast to be Chance of Rain at 10:00 PM PST on December 19, 2014
Chance of Rain
Home » Santa Clarita News » Santa Clarita Sports » Kern County Raceway News/Results » David Mayhew Wins 12th Race In NASCAR CITGO Lubricants Late Models
David Mayhew Wins 12th Race In NASCAR CITGO Lubricants Late Models

David Mayhew Wins 12th Race In NASCAR CITGO Lubricants Late Models

With his 12th win, David Mayhew has become the points leader of the NASCAR CITGO Lubricants Late Models at Kern County Raceway Park.  He swept the Twin 35 features during KRAB Radio Night on Saturday. Kyleigh Forester, Jerry Flippo, Tyler Bannister, and Donny St. Ours also won in the other six main events.

Don’t miss a thing. Get breaking Santa Clarita news alerts delivered right to your inbox.

Mayhew is now closer to competing in the NASCAR State Championship in Bakersfield.

Second in points Eric Richardson and Mayhew once again staged a great duel in the first 35 lap event of the night.  Lance Wilson led the first two laps before Mayhew’s teammate Johnny White anchored the field for from laps three through eight.  Richardson took the lead on lap nine with Mayhew in hot pursuit.

Mayhew stayed in lockstep with Richardson until a late caution period on lap 31 opened the door for the battle to intensify.  Mayhew and Richardson made contact and Mayhew stormed into the lead on lap 33 with White in tow.

Mayhew crossed the stripe with a narrow .613 second win over White, Richardson, Wilson, and Troy Morris, Jr.

The second 35 lap race was all Mayhew after he moved past Wilson on the second lap.  Mayhew cruised to a 1.475 second win over Richardson and lapped up to the fourth position in the caution-free contest.  The 35 laps were completed in just 11 minutes with White, Wilson, and newcomer Lee Jenson rounding out the top-five.

INEX Legends made their return to Kern County Raceway Park after a two week break with Donny St. Ours claiming his fourth victory of the year in the 30 lap race.  St. Ours methodically worked his way through the pack from seventh to take the lead from Blaine Perkins on lap 13.

Perkins, points leader Buddy Shepherd, and Ricky Schlick went back-and-forth for second place, with Schlick winning that battle to pace Perkins, Shepherd, and Brandon Weaver in the top-five.

INEX Bandolero action was again won by Tyler Bannister to give him eight wins this year.  The rookie driver led nationally-ranked Ryan Vargas of La Mirada throughout the entire 20 lap race with Colton Page rounding out the podium.

Both Mini Dwarf features were yet again won by the points leaders, but both races had their share of excitement.  Jr. Mini Dwarf points leader Kyleigh Forester came back from an early race incident to take the lead from Kabe McClenny and pull away to a five second win.  Troy Morris III passed McClenny on lap 13 to take second.

Sr. Mini Dwarf points leader Jerry Flippo continued a perfect season after taking the lead from Andrew Orlando on lap 11.  Jeremy Clark passed Orlando for second on lap 19 and finish just six tenths behind Flippo at the finish.

This Saturday night will be the busy Budweiser Night at Kern County Raceway Park with NASCAR Pro Late Models, NASCAR CITGO Lubricants Late Models, INEX Legends, INEX Bandoleros, and NASCAR Mini Stocks.

Kern County Raceway Park is online at  More information is available on Facebook at and on Twitter at

Major marketing partners include Coca Cola, Budweiser, CITGO Lubricants, Monster Energy, Advance Beverage Company, Three-Way Chevrolet, and Whelen Engineering.

For marketing information on Kern County Raceway Park, contact Steven Blakesley of Blakesley Sports Media by email at or by phone at (916) 509-7050.

August 24, 2013 KRAB Radio Night Results

Kern County Raceway Park – Bakersfield, CA

NASCAR CITGO Lubricants Late Model #1 – 35 laps

1) 17 David Mayhew, 2) 7 Johnny White, 3) 44 Eric Richardson, 4) 15 Lance Wilson, 5) 07 Troy Morris, Jr., 6) 13 Josh Horn, 7) 51 Ryan McDonald, 8) 22 Lee Jenson, 9) 98 Cole Adamo, 10) 05 Justin Philpott, 11) 1 Paul Ebersbacher 16:55.939

NASCAR CITGO Lubricants Late Model #2 – 35 laps

1) 17 David Mayhew, 2) 44 Eric Richardson, 3) 7 Johnny White, 4) 15 Lance Wilson, 5) 22 Lee Jenson, 6) 07 Troy Morris, Jr., 7) 51 Ryan McDonald, 8) 98 Cole Adamo, 9) 05 Justin Philpott, 10) 1 Paul Ebersbacher, 11) 13 Josh Horn 11:17.391

INEX Legend – 30 laps

1) 22 Donny St. Ours, 2) 24 Ricky Schlick, 3) 21b Blaine Perkins, 4) 22s Buddy Shepherd, 5) 84w Brandon Weaver, 6) 91 Dallas Montes, 7) 51 Racin Vernon, 8) 31 Eddie Garone, 9) 17 Eric Olson, 10) 18 Justin Eddleman 9:54.555

INEX Bandolero – 20 laps

1) 51 Tyler Bannister, 2) 23 Ryan Vargas, 3) 24 Colton Page, 4) 29 Braden Rogers, 5) 14 Gavyn Manning 8:55.974

Sr. Mini Dwarf – 20 laps

1) 13 Jerry Flippo, 2) 8 Jeremy Clark, 3) 92 Ryley Millard, 4) 3 Carter Enos, 5) 11 Andrew Orlando, 6) 33 Brock McLaughlin, 7) 4 Carson Enos, 8) 14 Kaylyn Baker, 9) 29 Trenton Millard 8:55.910

Jr. Mini Dwarf – 20 laps

1) 1 Kyleigh Forester, 2) 07 Troy Morris III, 3) 05 Kabe McClenny, 4) 00 Cheyenne Flippo, 5) 17 Kercie Jung, 6) 19b Bailey Thompson, 7) 48 Cabe Lewis 9:22.198


Do you have a news tip? Call us at (661) 298-1220, or drop us a line at

Source: Santa Clarita News

David Mayhew Wins 12th Race In NASCAR CITGO Lubricants Late Models

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

About hometown