Gerard Cosmetics – Banner
El Trocadero – Banner
Oakmont of Santa Clarita – Banner
College Of The Canyons – Banner
Galpin Motors – Banner
Beyond Harmony – Banner
Museum of the Bible – Passages – Banner
Lone Pine – Free Wifi – Banner
Beach Bus – 2015 – Santa Clarita Transit – Banner
Valencia – Where is Awesometown – Banner
AV Party Rental – Banner
Hodgkins Haters Golf – Banner
SCVEDC – Logix – Banner
Olive Terrace Bar and Grill – Banner
LA County Sheriffs – Chili Cook Off – Banner
Adage IT – Banner
Providence Medical Center – Banner
Small Dog Creative – Banner
Green Convergence – Sun Power – Banner
Action Family Counseling – Banner
Koalafornia – Banner
Keyboard Galleria – Banner
Outlets at Tejon – Labor Day – Banner
The Gentle Barn – Banner
Ballet – Sleeping Beauty – Banner
IHOP – Banner
Samuel Dixon – Rubber Ducky – 2015 – Banner
Persia Lounge – Banner
SB Zoo – Banner
Simply Taylored – Banner
Camelot Moving – AVON Walk – Banner
Nothing Bundt Cakes – Banner
Bob’s Country Meats – Banner
Marco’s Pizza – Banner
Brent’s Carpet One – Banner
The Coffee Corner – Banner
CLWA – Less Lawn – Banner
Facey – Banner
Union Bank – Banner
Academy Swim Club – Banner
Patterson’s Collision Center – Banner
Trinity Classical Academy – 9/11 – Banner
All Americans Bail Bonds – Banner
Feathers – Banner
It is forecast to be Partly Cloudy at 7:00 PM PDT on September 03, 2015
Partly Cloudy
Home » Santa Clarita News » Santa Clarita Sports » Kern County Raceway News/Results » Kern County Raceway Crowns Sana Clarita Man In Saturday’s Race
Kern County Raceway Crowns Sana Clarita Man In Saturday's Race

Kern County Raceway Crowns Sana Clarita Man In Saturday’s Race

The NASCAR K&N Pro Series, West feature was won Saturday night by Greg Pursley of Newhall, bringing him to his 18th career win.  Kern County Raceway Park held a crowd of more than 4,000 fans. 

Don’t miss a thing. Get breaking Santa Clarita news alerts delivered right to your inbox.

Pursley took the lead from pole sitter Gray Gaulding from Colonial Heights, VA with a power move on the outside on lap 63 to take the win.

“I’m glad to see all the fans back in Bakersfield,” Pursley said.  “We have the best guys out here and the best fans out here!  The last 20 laps against Self were like qualifying laps.  Most of all I have to thank all of you guys for coming to watch us.”

Dickey’s BBQ & Fight for Life presented the season finales for NASCAR CITGO Lubricants Late Models and NASCAR Spec-Mods, with wins going to Eric Richardson and Chris Dalton.

28 K&N West cars took the green flag and Derek Thorn led the opening lap from the outside pole by a nose, before Gaulding took control of the race.  The first 49 laps of action on the brand-new half-mile speedway went caution free before Anthony Giannone of Colorado Springs lost an engine.

Gaulding paced Pursley for the next few laps before making a move on the outside for the lead, but the caution came out for Scott Ivie spinning.  On the restart, Pursley took the lead on the outside to lead lap 63 and bring Michael Self with him.

15 year-old Giles Thornton of Whitefish, Mont. tagged the turn four wall to bring out a caution on lap 65 that led the field into the halfway break a few laps early.  Coming out of the break, Self and 2013 CITGO Late Model track champion David Mayhew battled for second before Self broke through to defend the position, with Gaulding following Self past Mayhew for third.

The exclamation point of the race came on lap 110 when both Dallas Montes and Gaulding tagged the wall in turn four, ending both of their evenings and solidifying the battle between Pursley and Self.  Points leader Derek Thorn of Bakesfield made some moves on the outside to crack the top-five before he tagged the wall and lost several positions.

The final 10 laps were a duel between Self and Pursley, with fast approaching Eric Holmes in tow.  Self took several looks inside Pursley but Pursley rolled the top to take the checkered flag by .178 seconds with Holmes, Mayhew, and Hayley the top-five.

Eric Richardson took a comfortable 1.260 second victory in the Dickey’s BBQ / Fight for Life 50 for $2,000 to wrap up the inaugural season for the CITGO-sponsored Late Models.  The win was Richardson’s fifth this year in a runner-up season behind David Mayhew.

17 cars started the feature and Richardson took the lead from Irwindale Speedway champion Ryan Partridge of Rancho Cucamonga on lap five.  Richardson won ahead of Partridge, Andrew Porter of La Verne, Rookie of the Year Johnny White, and Lance Wilson.  Partridge was disqualified for illegal fuel in post-race inspection.

The NASCAR Spec-Mods ran a 35 lap finale for their 2013 championship and Chris Dalton scored his fifth win worth $1000 while claiming the series championship.  Dalton led all 35 laps after starting on the outside pole.

October 19th race winner Brock Thompson ran second all ran but slowed with mechanical problems on lap 29.  Tim Esmay, Gary Dutton, Joel Courage, and Dylan Hagar followed Dalton across the stripe to round out the top-five.

Kern County Raceway Park will honor its track champions on Saturday night November 9th with an awards banquet on the grounds of the speedway.  Banquet ticket information is available on the track website with orders due by October 30th.

Kern County Raceway Park is online at  More information is available on Facebook at and on Twitter at

Major marketing partners include Coca Cola, Budweiser, CITGO Lubricants, Monster Energy, Advance Beverage Company, NAPA Auto Parts, DC’s RV Center, Three-Way Chevrolet, and Whelen Engineering.

For marketing information on Kern County Raceway Park, contact Steven Blakesley of Blakesley Sports Media by email at or by phone at (661) 835-1264, ext 3203

October 26, 2013 NAPA Auto Parts 150

Kern County Raceway Park – Bakersfield, CA

NASCAR K&N Pro Series, West – NAPA Auto Parts 150

1) 26 Greg Pursley, 2) 21 Michael Self, 3) 16 Eric Holmes, 4) 17 David Mayhew, 5) 24 Cameron Hayley, 6) 6 Derek Thorn, 7) 9 Dylan Lupton, 8) 20 Shane Golobic, 9) 89 Matt Tifft, 10) 43 Jason Fensler, 11) 71 Daryl Harr, 12) 8 Johnny Borneman, 13) 99 Chase Briscoe, 14) 74 Luis Tyrrell, 15) 51 Carlos Vieira, 16) 30 Travis Milburn, 17) 31 Bobby Runyan, Jr., 18) 38 Jack Chisholm, 19) 47 Scott Ivie, 20) 2 Carl Harr, 21) 02 Gray Gaulding, 22) 34 Dallas Montes, 23) 42 Taylor Cuzick, 24) 14 John Wood, 25) 12 Giles Thornton, 26) 54 Anthony Giannone, 27) Jim Weiler, 28) 5 Rich Delong III 70:46


NASCAR CITGO Lubricants Late Models – Dickey’s BBQ 50

1) 44 Eric Richardson, 2) 7 Andrew Porter, 3) 17 Johnny White, 4) 15 Lance Wilson, 5) 19 Kyle Heckman, 6) 28 Trevor Schlundt, 7) 9 Robby Sawyer, 8) 45 Sean Woodside, 9) 14 Mike Lansing, 10) 98 Cole Adamo, 11) 35 Rodney Peacher, 12) 1 Paul Ebersbacher, 13) 07 Troy Morris, Jr., 14) 42 Matt Erickson, 15) 55 Cole Custer, 16) 13 Josh Horn DQ: 48 Ryan Partridge 23:32.307


NASCAR Spec-Mods – Dickey’s BBQ 35

1) 13 Chris Dalton, 2) 48 Tim Esmay, 3) 23 Gary Dutton, 4) 33 Joel Courage, 5) 12 Dylan Hagar, 6) 31 Jim Coffey, 7) 4 Eric Brust, 8) 5 Bailey Thompson, 9) 2 Brock Thompson, 10) 20 Mark Allan 22:10.272

Do you have a news tip? Call us at (661) 298-1220, or drop us a line at

Source: Santa Clarita News

Kern County Raceway Crowns Sana Clarita Man In Saturday’s Race

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

About KHTS AM 1220

Action Family Counseling – News Banner
College of the Canyons – News Banner Fall Enrollment
All American Bail Bonds – News Banner
Academy Swim Club – News Banner
Beyond Harmony – News Banner
AV Party Rental – News Banner
AV Party Rental – Tile
Hodgkins Haters Golf – Tile
College Of The Canyons – Tile
Wicall’s Carpet
Patterson’s Collision Center – Tile
CLWA – Less Lawn – Tile