Newhall School District – Public Hearing – Banner
It is forecast to be Clear at 7:00 PM PDT on April 28, 2015
Home » Santa Clarita News » This Week: Santa Clarita Will Crown New Man And Woman Of The Year

This Week: Santa Clarita Will Crown New Man And Woman Of The Year

On Friday, May 8th, in a ballroom at the Hyatt Regency Valencia, a new Santa Clarita Valley Man and Woman of the Year will take their place in the history books.

As is custom, 2008 man and woman of the year Carl Goldman and Judy Penman will hand over the title to this year’s winners, who will be chosen from a long and distinguished list of local volunteers.

The event begins at 6:00 p.m. and will include recognition of all individuals nominated by various local non-profit organizations.

Then, the two main winners will be announced and celebrated with a slide show.

The Santa Clarita Valley Man and Woman of the Year program has been in existence since 1964, and it originated with the Newhall-Saugus Chamber of Commerce. To read more about the event’s history and see past honorees, check out

Here’s a list of all nominees and their respective nominating organizations.

Nominees for 2009 Woman of the Year:

Jane Bettencourt-Soto – Betty Ferguson Foundation

Gigi Bost – Santa Clarita Committee On Aging

Mary Ann Colf – Rotary

Nancy Coulter – American Cancer Society

Peggy Edwards – Zonta

Tamara Gurney – Providence Health & Services Foundation

Jorja Harris – Domestic Violence Center

Janice Hoskinson – Child & Family Center Foundation

Marlee Lauffer – Henry Mayo Newhall Memorial Hospital

Janice Murray – SCV Boys & Girls Club

Lynne Plambeck – Scope

Donna Schmidt – Elks

Julie Sturgeon – Betty Ferguson Foundation

Stephanie Weiss – Action

Dora Zavala – Soroptimist International of Greater Santa Clarita Valley

Nominees for 2009 Man of the Year:

Greg Amsler – Henry Mayo Newhall Memorial Hospital Foundation

Chris Ball – Rotary

Kerry Carmody – Leukemia & Lymphoma Society

Wayne Crawford – Carousel Ranch & Henry Mayo Newhall Memorial Hospital Foundation

Rick Patterson – Hart Facilities District & SCV Committee on Aging

Craig Peters – SCV Boys & Girls Club

Tom Schmidt – Elks

Steve Sturgeon – Child & Family Center Foundation

KHTS AM-1220 will post the winners after the event Friday night at

This Week: Santa Clarita Will Crown New Man And Woman Of The Year

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

About KHTS AM 1220

All American Bail Bonds – News Banner
College Of The Canyons – News Banner
Hugo Naturals – News Banner
AV Party Rental – News Banner
Beyond Harmony – News Banner
Action Family Counseling – News Banner
Academy Swim Club – News Banner
Green Convergence – Tile
Galpin Motors – Tile
Patterson’s Collision Center – Tile
Academy Swim Club – Tile
Dermacure – Tile
Mannered Mutt – Tile